The Tim Sullivan Endowment for Writing sponsors the visits of well-known writers to campus. The custom is to bring writers to campus during the fall and the spring semesters to offer public readings and writers' workshops.

Robert Olen Butler won the Pulitzer Prize in fiction for A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain. He is a four-time honoree in Best American Short Stories, a six-time honoree in New Stories from the South, and the author of nine novels and two collections of short stories.

Rachel Hadas has published twelve books of poetry, essays, and translations. Her collections of poetry include Indelible, Halfway Down the Hall: New & Selected Poems, The Empty Bed, The Double Legacy, Mirrors of Astonishment, and Living in Time.

Richard Howard is the author of eleven volumes of poetry, including Trappings: New Poems; Like Most Revelations: New Poems, Selected Poems; No Traveller; Findings, Untitled Subjects, for which he received the Pulitzer Prize; and Quantities. He has published more than 150 translations from the French. He is also the author of Alone with America: Essays on the Art of Poetry in the United States since 1950.

The published poetry of Andrew Hudgins include Babylon in a Jar, The Glass Hammer: A Southern Childhood, The Never-Ending: New Poems, After the Lost War: A Narrative, and Saints and Strangers (1985), which was short-listed for the Pulitzer Prize. He is also the author of a book of essays, The Glass Anvil. Hudgins's awards and honors include the Witter Bynner Award for Poetry, the Hanes Poetry Prize, and fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Maxine Kumin has written eleven books of poetry, including Connecting the Dots, Looking for Luck, which received the Poets' Prize; Nurture; The Long Approach; Our Ground Time Here Will Be Brief: New and Selected Poems; House, Bridge, Fountain, Gate; and Up Country: Poems of New England (1972), for which she received the Pulitzer Prize.

William Logan is the author of five books of poems: Sad-faced Men, Difficulty, Sullen Weedy Lakes, Vain Empires, and Night Battle. He is the author of two books of essays and reviews on contemporary poetry, All the Rage and Reputations of the Tongue, and co-editor of a book on the poetry of Donald Justice, Certain Solitudes. Reputations of the Tongue was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle award in criticism.

Heather McHugh's books of poetry include Hinge & Sign: Poems 1968-1993, which won both the Boston Book Review's Bingham Poetry Prize and the Pollack-Harvard Review Prize. It also was a finalist for the National Book Award, and was named a "Notable Book of the Year" by the New York Times Book Review. She is also the author of Shades, To the Quick, A World of Difference, and Dangers.

Barbara Hamby's first full-length book of poetry, Delirium, won the Vassar Miller Prize, the Kate Tufts Discovery Award, and the Poetry Society of America's Norma Farber First Book Prize. Her second book, The Alphabet of Desire, won the New York University Prize for Poetry and was chosen by the New York Public Library as one of the 25 best books of 1999. Her poems have appeared in Best American Poetry 2000, Pushcart Prizes 2001, The Paris Review, The Iowa Review, and The Kenyon Review.

Mark Jarman is the author of numerous collections of poetry: Unholy Sonnets; Questions for Ecclesiastes, which won the 1998 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; The Black Riviera (1990), which won the 1991 Poets' Prize; Far and Away (1985); The Rote Walker (1981); and North Sea (1978). In 1992 he published Iris, a book-length poem. His poetry and essays have been published widely in such periodicals and journals as American Poetry Review, Gettysburg Review, The Hudson Review, The New Yorker, Poetry, and Southern Review. A collection of Jarman's own essays, The Secret of Poetry, was published in 2000.

Allison Joseph is the author of three collections of poetry, What Keeps Us Here, Soul Train, and In Every Seam. Her poems are often attuned to the experiences of women and minorities. What Keeps Us Here was the winner of Ampersand Press' 1992 Women Poets Series Competition. It also received the John C. Zacharis First Book Award from Ploughshares and Emerson College in Boston. Her poems have appeared in Ploughshares, Callaloo, Parnassus, The Southern Review, and The Kenyon Review.

W.P. Kinsella has published 15 books and over 200 short stories, but he is best known for his award-winning novel Shoeless Joe, which was made into the highly praised film Field of Dreams. Kinsella writes primarily about baseball (The Thrill of the Grass and The Iowa Baseball Confederacy) and Native Americans (The Moccasin Telegraph and The Fencepost Chronicle).

David Kirby, the W. Guy McKenzie Professor of English at Florida State University, is the author or co-author of twenty-one books. His work appears in the Best American Poetry and Pushcart Prize series. His poems and essays also appear in such journals as Kenyon Review, Southern Review, Ploughshares, Parnassus, Virginia Quarterly Review, Missouri Review, Five Points, TriQuarterly, and Northwest Review.

Mary Jo Salter is the author of four collections, Henry Purcell in Japan (1985), Unfinished Painting (the 1989 Lamont Selection for the year's most distinguished second volume of poetry), Sunday Skaters (1994), and A Kiss in Space (1999), as well as a children's book, The Moon Comes Home (1989).

© 2003 Stetson University English Department