Faculty and Staff
Stetson University's mathematics and computer science faculty is committed to integrating exploration style projects into courses. With this approach, the classroom becomes a laboratory where students, under faculty guidance, explore and discuss new concepts and ideas. Our faculty also believe in encouraging undergraduate research, which often results in presentations or publications that give our students a professional edge.
Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty
Daniel R. Plante
Associate Professor of Computational Science
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame. M.S. in Engineering (Computer Science), North Carolina State University
dplante@stetson.edu

Interests: Physics, Large-Scale Computations, Parallel Computing.
Erich Friedman
Assosciate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Cornell University
efriedma@stetson.edu

Interests: Probability, Game Theory, Packing and Tiling, Combinatorial Geometry.
Hala ElAarag
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Central Florida.
helaarag@stetson.edu

Interests: Computer Networks, Computer Architecture, Modeling, Simulation and Performance Evaluation.
Hari Pulapaka
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Florida
hpulapak@stetson.edu

Interests: Graph Theory, Combinatorics, Number Theory.
Lisa Coulter
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Courant Institute, New York University.
lcoulter@stetson.edu

Interests: Numerical Analysis, Mathematical Modeling.
Michael Branton
Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
mbranton@stetson.edu

Interests: Dynamical Systems, Artificial Life, Computer Graphics, Web App Development, Database
Tom Vogel
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Central Florida
tvogel@stetson.edu

Interests: Differential Equations, Physics
Will Miles
Department chair and Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Clemson University
wmiles@stetson.edu

Interests: Computational Analysis, Finite Element Method, Interface Tracking, Fluid Dynamics.
Lecturers
Staff
Nancy Wilton
Queen of the Universe
nwilton@stetson.edu

Interests: Funky Art Projects
Emeritus Faculty
Dennis Kletzing
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics.
Ph.D., Dartmouth College

Interests: Abstract Algebra
Gareth Williams
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Wales
gwilliam@stetson.edu

Interests: Relativity Theory, Linear Algebra, Use of Technology in Mathematics.
Margie Hale
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
mhale@stetson.edu

Interests: Topology, Logic, Differential Equations, Interactive Software.
Retired Faculty
Donna Williams
Former Associate Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Central Florida
dwilliam@stetson.edu

Interests: Computer Vision, Graph Theory.