Celebrate, Create and Explore

ASBE / EEP Joint Conference — Orlando, FL
Conference Dates: September 23 – 25, 2015

The Association of Small Business and Entrepreneurship is a well-established organization founded as a venue to present theoretical and applied research pertaining to the field of small business and entrepreneurship. The Entrepreneurship Education Project is a group of scholars working in two related domains: entrepreneurship education and entrepreneurial ecosystems. This year we are excited to offer a joint conference as we engage in dialogue, present our research and thoughts, and Celebrate, Create and Explore Entrepreneurship!

Submissions can be made in one of three areas:

  1. Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
    Competitive paper track encompassing research in the area of entrepreneurship, entrepreneurial ecosystems, small business, practice, theory and/or application.
  2. Entrepreneurship Education
    Competitive paper track encompassing research in the area of entrepreneurship pedagogy.
  3. Experiential Exercises Expo
    Competitive exercises track, in an expo and presentation format, where experiential exercises and classroom activities relating to entrepreneurship and small business are showcased.

All submissions will be blind reviewed. Please note we are using a rolling peer-review acceptance model, so papers submitted earlier will be notified earlier of the acceptance / rejection decision. All decision notifications will be made by July 15. Accepted papers and exercises will be included in the conference proceedings.

Papers will be presented in 30-minute format allowing for a 15-minute presentation and 15-minute dialogue to follow. Experiential exercises will be showcased ‘expo style’ as well as demonstrated live in an up-to-30-minute timeslot.

Publication Opportunity

ASBE’s Journal of Business and Entrepreneurship (JBE) will publish its 2nd Annual Special Issue on Entrepreneurship Education in partnership with EEP. Papers submitted to the Entrepreneurship Education area and the Experiential Exercise area will be considered for this special edition of the journal. In addition, Best Papers from all tracks are eligible for publication consideration in a regular issue. JBE seeks to publish work that increases theoretical and practical insights about small business and entrepreneurship, and has been doing so since its inception in 1989.

Conference Guidelines

All submissions will be blind reviewed. Before entering the blind review process, all submitted papers will be evaluated via electronic plagiarism software (self and others). Papers that do not pass this evaluation will be returned to the authors and not be entered into the blind review process. Submitted papers must not have been previously presented or scheduled for presentation, nor published or accepted for publication. Submitted papers also may be submitted to a journal (but not a conference) after the conference submission deadline, but must not appear online or in print before the 2015 ASBE meeting. Subsequent publication, with proper acknowledgement, is encouraged. If a paper is accepted, at least one author must register and present the work at the conference. If at least one author of an accepted paper is not registered for the conference by September 1, 2015, the paper will be removed from the program. Rule-of-Three: No one is allowed to be included as an author, presenter, or panelist on more than three submissions.

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Heidi Neck is a Babson College Professor and the Jeffry A. Timmons Professor of Entrepreneurial Studies. Neck is Faculty Director of Babson’s Symposia for Entrepreneurship Educators (SEE)—programs designed to further develop faculty from around the world in the art and craft of teaching entrepreneurship and building entrepreneurship programs. Neck is also the Director of the Babson Entrepreneur Experience Lab —a national applied research project, in partnership with the Business Innovation Factory, that seeks to better understand the experience of entrepreneurs of all kinds in order to design and develop better support program for today’s entrepreneur. Neck is the lead author of Teaching Entrepreneurship: A Practice-Based Approach—a book written to help educators teach entrepreneurship in more experiential and engaging ways.

Dr. Gerard J. Puccio is Department Chair and Professor at the International Center for Studies in Creativity–also known as the Creative Studies Department. His most recent book titled The Innovative Team, co-authored with Chris Grivas, is a fable about a team that was able to apply proven creative-thinking tools to turn around a dysfunctional and unproductive situation. In 2011 he and his colleagues, Marie Mance and Mary Murdock, published the second edition of their book Creative Leadership: Skills that Drive Change. Dr. Puccio has worked with major corporations, universities, and numerous school districts. Some of his recent clients include the BBC, The Smithsonian Institute, Rich Products, BNP Paribas, Rubbermaid, and Coca-Cola.

Nathan Schwagler is founding Co-Director of The Edge at The Dali Museum – a creativity and innovation services laboratory where he serves as lead program designer and executive facilitator. In addition to expert-level facilitation skills across a portfolio of Creative Problem Solving methodologies, Nathan is also a certified practitioner of the LEGO Serious Play methodolgoy, as well as the creative problem solving preference measure, FourSight, a tool utilized by organizations such as: NIKE, Pfizer, GOOGLE, Disney, HP, IBM, Kraft, and L’oreal, and academic institutions such as MIT, Stanford, and Harvard. Before joining the museum, Nathan held the title of Creative-In-Residence at the University of South Florida, St. Petersburg College of Business.


Each year ASBE recognizes individuals for their contributions in a variety of categories.

  • Best Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award
  • Outstanding Educator Award
  • University Entrepreneurship Advocacy Award
  • ASBE Fellow Induction

Organizing Team

  • Program Chair: Dr. Mary Jo Jackson (mjjackson@ut.edu)
  • EEP Liaison: Dr. Jeff Vanevenhoven (vanevenj@uww.edu)
  • ASBE Liaison: Dr. Bill Jackson (wtj@usfsp.edu)
  • JBE Liaison: Dr. Eric Liguori (eliguori@ut.edu)