StetsonU honors T. Wayne Bailey for 50 years

T. Wayne Bailey-50th anniversaryEach year at the annual Silver Circle Recognition Dinner, Stetson University celebrates the dedicated service of staff and faculty. Twenty-five years of service at Stetson entitle Hatter employees to the honorary, official membership into the Silver Circle. Each member receives an engraved silver clock.

At this year’s celebration, Dr. T. Wayne Bailey, political science professor at Stetson since 1963, was recognized for his 50th anniversary at Stetson. Bailey, who is one of the founders of Stetson’s Model U.S. Senate and the annual International Symposium, is director of the Washington Semester at American University program and he chaired and continues to serve on the Pre-Law Advisory Committee at Stetson.

In her remarks honoring Bailey in front of an assembly of faculty and staff on Monday, April 29, Provost Beth Paul said, “Dr. T. Wayne Bailey has taught nearly every political science course ever offered at Stetson. Many former students have gone on to serve in state legislature and congressional positions, including former U.S. Sen. Max Cleland, a 1964 Stetson graduate, and at least three alumni currently serving in the Florida Legislature. Dr. Bailey is well known for volunteering his expertise for local, state and national groups. He has held various leadership positions in the Florida Democratic Party and was a Florida delegate to the Democratic National Convention from 1972 to 2012, attending 10 National Conventions. He has done extensive work with local government – cities and counties – upgrading their charters and reforming their governments.”

Bailey has been an active member of the American Lung Association for over 40 years, and in 2004, was the first person in the United States to receive the Discovery Health Channel Medical Honor for his work with the ALA, in making Florida’s public areas officially smoke-free.

Celebrating 50 years at Stetson University, Bailey was inducted into Stetson’s Gold Circle. President Wendy Libby and Provost Paul presented Bailey with a personalized Seiko gold and silver watch.

Also honored at Stetson’s 2013 Employee Recognition Celebration:

  • 40 years of service, each receiving a mantle clock:
    • James R. Beasley
    • A. Richard Kindred
  • 35 years of service, each receiving a crystal pitcher:
    • Derek T. Barkalow
    • Robert D. Batey
    • Robert D. Bickel
    • Linda P. Davis
    • Richard A. Ferland
    • Benjamin Heflin
    • Gloria Heflin
    • Earlene G. Kuester
    • Donald W. Musser
    • David C. Rigsby
  • 30 years of service, each receiving marble coasters:
    • Pamela D. Burdett
    • Mitchell Reddish
    • Michael Rickman
    • Stephen Robinson
    • Beverly Romans
    • Theodore Surynt
    • Sally G. Waters
  • New inductees into the university’s Silver Circle for 25 years of service, each receiving a silver clock:
    • Deborah A. Bartles
    • Peter G. May
    • Michael W. McFarland
    • Lynn A. Musco
    • Marleen O’Connor
    • Kenneth B. Oliver
    • John H. Pearson
    • Sandra L. Wilcox
  • Retirees, each receiving a crystal cube:
    • Robert D. Batey
    • Jane Bradford
    • Pamela D. Burdett
    • John Cooper
    • Rosemary Congelosi
    • Shirley D. Ferguson
    • Joyce Fulton
    • Linda Grooms
    • Richard Peter Heine
    • Willard Kilgore
    • A. Richard Kindred
    • JoAnne L. Longo
    • Lizabeth Moody
    • Christine B. Nelson
    • Paul Steeves
    • Judy Ward.