Moot Court team named finalist, earns brief award, in competition

Moot Court Board team members Anya Pardy, Sara Spears, and Emily Witthoeft were named finalists and earned a third-place award for the Petitioner’s Brief in the 12th Annual Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition held Oct. 20-23, 2021.

The three-day long competition was hosted virtually by Elon Law School and included 51 teams from 34 law schools and over 100 advocates.

The final round, which was judged by the Associate Justices and a former Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, was a close contest against Michigan State. This was the furthest a Stetson team has gotten in this competition, and the largest number of teams participating in a competition thus far this season.  It also marked the fourth competition that a Stetson team earned recognition for their brief writing, as well as their team performance.

Stetson alumna Caitlein Jammo coached the team.