This allée couverte (covered walkway) type passage tomb gets its name from a local legend that the stones were constructed by fairies. It is a passage tomb of the Angevin type, with a series of porticos rather than a narrow passageway. It is made from 40 large pieces of purple schist and is oriented 140 degrees southeast, toward sunrise on the winter solstice. It is 19.5 meters long and 4.1 meters high x 4.7 meters wide. The site was likely constructed between 3000 and 2500 b.c.e., and its elevation is 70 meters. There is a huge forecourt with two impressive lintel/capstones and their supporting orthostats. The endstone has some white quartz marbling. The capstones and orthostats are roughly hewn and stand as large as 12 feet high. The largest of the stones may weigh as much as 40 tons. The site is now located in a grove of oak and chestnut trees. It is within a large park with mowed grass, picnic table, bathrooms, and parking. The site was scheduled as an ancient monument between 1838-40.