Stetson students win all awards at National Professional Responsibility Moot Court Competition

Stetson University College of Law students won the National Professional Responsibility Moot Court Competition on March 17 in Indianapolis, Ind. Stetson students also won all six of the possible awards, sweeping the competition.

Stetson Law students swept the competition. (L-R): Morgan Vasigh, Kevin Crews, Erin Okuno, Michelle Reilly, Adriana Corso and Erin Dolan.

Stetson Law teams shown here with the competition judges at the Indiana Supreme Court. Photo by Brooke Bowman. (See caption information below)

Two teams of Stetson students beat teams from around the country to compete against each other in the final round, presented at the Indiana Supreme Court. The Stetson team of Kevin Crews, Erin Okuno and Morgan Vasigh won the final round, competing against the Stetson team of Adriana Corso, Erin Dolan and Michelle Reilly.

Stetson students Corso, Dolan and  Reilly won the Best Petitioner Brief Award. Crews, Okuno and Vasigh won the Best Respondent Brief Award. Okuno was also named Best Oralist in both the preliminary and final rounds.

This is the second year in a row in which a Stetson team has won top awards at this competition. Last year, the Stetson team won the Best Oralist Overall, the Best Respondent Brief, as well as the entire competition.

“At Stetson, we focus on preparing and developing the whole advocate, and our students were remarkably prepared, thanks to the assistance of numerous attorneys and alumni who came to judge the teams’ practices,” said Stetson’s moot court adviser and professor Brooke Bowman. “The judges recognized that the Stetson students were the best advocates—in writing and orally—at this competition. These judges also commented on the students’ impressive level of professionalism.”

Stetson professors Bowman and Roberta Flowers coached the Stetson teams.

To learn more about advocacy at Stetson, visit

Editor’s Note: Photo caption information

(Front row, L-R): Stetson students Morgan Vasigh, Kevin Crews, Erin Okuno, Michelle Reilly, Adriana Corso and Erin Dolan. (Back row, L-R): Executive Director of the National Art Museum of Sport at Indiana University Elizabeth Varner, Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven H. David, Presiding Judge of the Court of Appeals of Indiana Fourth District Patricia A. Riley, retired Indiana Supreme Court Justice Frank Sullivan Jr., Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law alumnus and public defender Sean Row.