Alumni and friends honored at Florida Bar Convention in Orlando

The Stetson Lawyers Alumni Association (SLAA) presented awards to six outstanding alumni and friends of Stetson University College of Law during the Florida Bar Annual Meeting in Orlando on June 14.

  • Jonathan “Boomer” Hart J.D. ’14 received the Outstanding Alumni Representative Award for dedication and service to the Stetson Lawyers Alumni Association.

    (L-R): Boomer Hart with Interim Dean Adams.

Hart is a senior associate with Wood, Smith, Henning and Berman in Tampa. He is an active participant with the leadership committee of Stetson’s Tampa Bay alumni chapter, and has played an integral role in the growth of the group.

  • Keith Appleby J.D./M.B.A. ’04  received the Paul M. May Meritorious Service Award for continuously supporting Stetson Law and its alumni association.

    (L-R): Interim Dean Adams with Keith Appleby.

Appleby came to Stetson Law following a successful career in finance, and is currently a shareholder with Banker Lopez Gassler in Tampa practicing in the areas of bankruptcy, creditors’ rights, foreclosures, and general business litigation. A member of the Stetson Lawyers Alumni Association board, Appleby and his wife Diana recently established the Kiana Lynne Appleby Scholarship Endowment.

  • Nathan Hatcher J.D. ’08 received the President’s Award in recognition of his leadership.

    (L-R): Interim Dean Adams with Nathan Hatcher.

Hatcher is a shareholder in Hill Ward Henderson’s litigation group. Over the past two years, he has served as president of the board of the Stetson Lawyers Alumni Association, helping to propel the board and association to new heights.

  • Bronwyn Stanford J.D. ’03  received the Distinguished Alumni Award.

    (L-R): Interim Dean Adams with Bronwyn Stanford.

Stanford is chief administrator of the southern region for the Department of Children and Families. She is responsible for approximately 1400 employees and an operating budget of more than $250 million. She has dedicated her career to making a difference in the lives of children and developing young leaders.

  • Professor Emeritus William “Bill” Eleazer received the Distinguished Service Award for his significant, meritorious and continuing contributions to Stetson Law.

    Professor Emeritus Bill Eleazer with Interim Dean Kristen Adams.

    (L-R): Professor Emeritus Bill Eleazer with Interim Dean Adams.

Eleazer helped develop Stetson’s nationally top-ranked program in trial advocacy. Joining the Stetson Law faculty in 1979, he taught trial practice, advanced trial practice, evidence, and served as the director of Stetson’s Prosecution Clinic. He worked countless hours during evenings and weekends guiding and assisting students in preparing for state, regional and national trial competitions

  • Professor Rebecca Morgan J.D. ’80 received the Ben C. Willard Award for humanitarian achievements bringing distinction to herself and Stetson Law.

    (L-R): Professor Rebecca Morgan with Interim Dean Adams.

Morgan is a law professor at Stetson, where she teaches a variety of elder law courses in the J.D. and LL.M. programs and oversees the elder law concentration program. She has co-authored numerous books, and served as the president of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, president of the board of directors for the National Senior Citizens Law Center, chair of the American Association of Law Schools Section on Aging and the Law, chair of the Florida Bar Elder Law Section, and on the faculty of the National Judicial College. She has served on multiple task forces and commissions and has won awards including the 2003 Faculty Award on Professionalism from the Florida Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism.

Stetson University Interim Dean and Professor of Law Kristen Adams presented the awards program.