Stetson prof. earns Fulbright U.S. Senior Scholar Award

Luz E. Nagle
Professor Luz E. Nagle

Stetson University College of Law Professor Luz E. Nagle will spend the fall semester in the Canary Islands of Spain, teaching and conducting research at Universidad de La Laguna in Tenerife as a Fulbright U.S. Senior Scholar in international law.

“Selection as a Fulbright Senior Scholar is a highly competitive process,” Professor Nagle wrote via email from her office abroad. “The award came as a wonderful surprise.  I am grateful, humbled, and honored for the opportunity to expand my knowledge and friendships in this wonderful culture and to be allowed to observe and participate in the training of future lawyers in a legal system different from our own.”

Professor Nagle will teach and lecture on international law topics and conduct research on trade-based money laundering while on the Faculty of Law (Facultad de Derecho) of the Universidad de La Laguna in Tenerife.

“My research interest in trade-based money laundering is well-suited to the Canary Islands, which is an historic trade crossroads between Europe, Africa, and the Americas and has a vibrant free-trade port zone in Santa Cruz de Tenerife,” Professor Nagle wrote.  “I intend to engage with Faculty at the Universidad de La Laguna who represent a multi-disciplinary approach to combating transborder and financial crimes, and hopefully develop opportunities for advanced legal studies between our two universities.  Of course, I am also excited to experience the lifestyle and natural beauty of the Canary Islands.” 

Tenerife is the largest of Spain’s Canary Islands, an archipelago off the coast of northwestern Africa.

Nagle joins elite group

Professor Nagle is one of more than 800 U.S. citizens who will teach, conduct research, and/or provide expertise abroad for the 2019-2020 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Fulbright winners are selected for their academic and professional achievement, as well as record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 59 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 84 who have received Pulitzer Prizes, and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program. It operates in 160 countries and is funded through an annual appropriation from U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, as well as participating governments, host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world.

J. William Fulbright, a late U.S. senator from Arkansas, introduced legislation establishing the program in 1946. Since then, it has given more than 390,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and professionals of all backgrounds and fields the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research abroad.

For further information about the Fulbright Program, visit For additional information about Professor Nagle, visit