2017 Student Honorees

Outstanding Seniors 2017

The Creative Arts Department is proud to salute our 2017 outstanding students!  Our outstanding seniors were honored at the College of Arts and Sciences Senior Honors Banquet for their superlative academic performance.  We will present our named awards at Stetson’s Undergraduate Awards and Recognition Ceremony the day before commencement.


Seen in the featured image from left to right: Anna Chun, Tony Pizzo, Dr. Nathan Wolek, Caitlin Prestridge, Jasmine Ramos, and Samantha Williams.

  •         Jasmine Ramos (Art – with an emphasis in Studio Art)
  •         Anna Chun (Digital Arts)

  •         Tony Pizzo (Digital Arts)

  •          Caitlin Prestridge (Digital Arts)

  •          Samantha Williams (Theatre Arts)


Creative Arts honorees after the university awards ceremony.

From left to right: Bianca Enos, Jasmine Ramos, Whitney Wolf, Peter Nyong’o, Dr. Nathan Wolek, Ian Felpel, and Alex Shelb.

         Studio Art

Philip Anthony Memorial Award — Stetson Art student Philip Anthony graduated in 2006. Following his untimely death in the spring of 2011, Philip’s family and friends wanted to establish something in his memory since his experience at Stetson had meant so much to him. They decided an award in his name would be fitting, and donations came in towards that end. Following the Senior Portfolio Review in the fall of 2011, four seniors became the inaugural recipients of this first memorial award, which helped to augment their spring 2012 Senior Thesis Exhibition expenses.
Spring 2016 recipientsJasmine Ramos and Whitney Wolf III
Spring 2017 recipientAriana Santana

Ed Hamill Award to Outstanding Senior — In late 1979, Edwin N. Hamill, a significant donor of artwork to Stetson University, desired to establish an annual scholarship-based award to be presented to an outstanding senior art major. At the time, it was the first award of its kind for the department, and in the fall of 1980 the first award was presented.  Recipient: Jasmine Ramos

Ann West Hall Purchase Award — Stetson art graduate Ann West Hall ’02 was not only an artist, but a patron of the arts. When Ann passed away in June 2008, she left a generous endowment to benefit students during their art experience at the University. Part of the endowment was specifically designated for the purchase of student artwork from the annual Senior Thesis Exhibition, to be incorporated into the University’s significant permanent art collection. This year (2012) marks the first year this award is being presented.
RecipientWhitney Wolf III (piece purchased:  “Louis Woodpecker”)

Louis and Elsie Freund Young Artist Award — Louis Freund, artist-in-residence and Stetson Art Department Chair from 1949-1959, and his wife Elsie, an artist, art teacher, and founding member along with her husband of the Florida Craftsmen organization, wanted to leave a legacy to Stetson that would impact the lives of promising young artists. Before their deaths (his in 1999 and hers in 2001) they had left word of their intentions, and following their deaths a special endowment was established which has resulted in this special award in their honor, first presented in the spring of 2004. The award winning work becomes part of the University’s permanent art collection.
RecipientBianca Enos  (piece purchased:  “Olivia”)

         Digital Arts

Ethan F. Greene Award — Presented annually starting in 2017, this program award is named in honor of Dr. Ethan Greene, a composer and sound artist who taught in the Digital Arts program from 2014 to 2015. Although his time at Stetson was cut short, he made a lasting impact on his students and colleagues. The award recognizes one student for significant achievement in the preparation and presentation of their senior project.
RecipientIan Felpel

         Theatre Arts

James Campbell Wright Award for Excellence in Technical Theatre — James Campbell Wright Award for Excellence in Technical Theatre recognizes a Theatre Arts major or minor who has demonstrated excellence in work behind the scenes. This award is given in honor of James Wright, PhD, who served as a Stetson faculty member for 39 years, from 1965 until his retirement in 2004. Dr. Wright earned the reputation of a congenial and devoted teacher, and also as a guiding force in Stover Theatre productions for over a third of its history.
RecipientKathrine (Katie) Pulling

Marjorie Forster Gilbert Award for Outstanding Student Performer — The Marjorie Forster Gilbert Award for Outstanding Student Performer recognizes a Theatre Arts or Communication Studies major who has demonstrated excellence as an actor or director in theatre production. Mrs. Marjorie Gilbert was a professor at Stetson from 1969 until her retirement in 1989.  She was dedicated to drawing the best from her students, both in the classroom and on the stage, and her immense contribution to our Department over the years is commemorated with this award.
RecipientsPeter (Junior) Nyong’o and Alex Schelb

Stetson Showcase Awards:

   Maris Prizes

  •    Catherine (Grace) Aguda and Peter (Junior) Nyong’o (Theatre Arts):  “Who Killed Desdemona?”
  •   Victoria Grupp (Digital Arts):  “Track It, Zip It”
  •   Jasmine Ramos (Studio Art):  “What it Costs”

  Honorable Mentions

  •   Anna Chun (Digital Arts):  “The God of Antiques”
  •   Ian Felpel (Digital Arts):  “HIGAVI”
  •   Samantha Williams (Theatre Arts):  “Styles of Management and Communication Applied to the Production Manager within the Theatrical Production Process”


Category: ART News, DIGA News, THEA News Tags: , , , , , No Comments

Shasta Ford

Shasta Ford graduated in 2015 from Stetson University with a major in Digital Arts. We recently asked her to share some ...

Faculty Focus: Dengke Chen

Dengke Chen's Unvarnished Story Over the summer of 2017, Dengke Chen's Illustration and AR project, Unvarnished Story�...

Grace Aguda

Q: What are your plans for graduation/career? I will be working for the Brevard Country Sheriff Office in Community Pro...

Comments are closed.