Category Archives: Announcements

Join the duPont-Ball SF Book Club for Cultural Credit and a Free Book!

This semester’s Speculative Fiction Book Club book will be Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell!

The book club meeting will be held in the library on Wednesday, February 26th at 6:30 PM, so please do not sign up if you will not be available to attend this event. The meeting will feature discussion, food, and cultural credit.

We have fifteen copies of the book to give out to the first fifteen applicants. All you have to do is email cfinkle@stetson.edu with the subject line “Book Club” to sign up! You will then receive instructions on how to retrieve your book.

Cloud Atlas is a nesting-doll novel that blends adventure, romance, mystery, sci-fi and more in an intertwining epic that bounces from the South Pacific in 1849 to prewar Belgium to 70s California to present-day London to a futuristic South Korea to a post-apocalyptic Hawai’i… and then all the way back again, revealing along the way “how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky”.

Innovation Lab Workshops – Cultural Credit Available!

Sign up for one of our Innovation Lab Workshops, where you can learn about how all the exciting tech in the Innovation Lab applies to your life and studies! Learn about 3D printing, 3D scanning, VR, and much more – plus, you can get Cultural Credit!

Spots are limited, so be sure to sign up early via LibCal. Click here to sign up!

The event will be held eight times during the semester, at the following dates and times:

  • Tue January 21 at 3 PM
  • Wed January 29 at 7 PM
  • Mon February 10 at 10 AM
  • Thu February 20 at 7 PM
  • Fri March 13 at 10 AM
  • Tue March 24 at 7 PM
  • Wed April 8 at 3 PM
  • Mon April 20 at 7 PM
(Note: only one cultural credit per student, so don’t sign up for more than one time. They’re all the same event.)

Vote on the Spring SF Book Club selection!

This semester, the library will be running two book clubs – the Speculative Fiction Book Club meeting in late February, and the YA Book Club meeting in April. Now is your chance to vote on which book the SF club will read!

“Speculative Fiction” is a catch-all term referring to fiction that contains elements that do not or could not exist in the real world. It encompasses Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Horror, and more besides – and many of the genre bending books on this shortlist include all those elements as well. Read the descriptions and place your votes now! Signups to join the club will open soon.

Spring Hours

As the new semester starts up, the Library will return to its normal hours on January 11, with a slight bump on MLK Day.

Regular Spring Hours

Monday through Thursday, 8 am to 2 am
Friday, 8 am to 6 pm
Saturday, 11 am to 6 pm
Sunday, 11 am to 2 am

Special hours for spring are:

Date Special Hours
Saturday 11 January Resume Regular Spring Hours
Monday 20 January Martin Luther King Jr. Day
5 pm to 2 am
Saturday 29 February – Saturday 7 March Spring Break
Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm
Saturday – Sunday CLOSED
Sunday 8 March Resume Regular Spring Hours
Friday 10 April Good Friday Holiday
CLOSED
Wednesday 29 April – Tuesday 5 May Extended Finals Hours
Monday – Friday 7 am to 2 am
Saturday – Sunday 9 am to 2 am

For more details, see the Calendar & Hours page.

Intersession Hours begin Saturday, Dec. 14

Intersession Hours*
Saturday 14 December – Friday 20 December 
Monday – Friday:  8 am to 5 pm
Saturday – Sunday:  CLOSED

*The library will be closed from 11 am to 1 pm on Monday 16 December for a library staff retreat.

Winter Holiday
Saturday 21 December – Wednesday 1 January
CLOSED

Intersession Hours
Thursday 2 January – Saturday 11 January
Monday – Friday:  8 am to 5 pm
Saturday – Sunday:  CLOSED

Spring Semester Library Hours begin on Sunday 12 January. See the Calendar & Hours page for more information.

Extended Finals hours

Extended Finals Hours
Friday 6 December – Friday 13 December

Monday – Friday: 7 am to 2 am
Saturday – Sunday: 9 am to 2 am

Fri. 6 Dec.: 7 am to 2 am
Sat.  7 Dec.: 9 am to 2 am
Sun. 8 Dec.: 9 am to 2 am
Mon. 9 Dec*.: 7 am to 2 am
Tue.  10 Dec.: 7 am to 2 am
Wed. 11 Dec.: 7 am to 2 am
Thu. 12 Dec. : 7 am to 2 am
Fri. 13 Dec.: 7 am to 2 am

Intersession Hours
Saturday 14 Dec. –  Friday 20 December
Monday – Friday: 8 am to 5 pm
Saturday – Sunday: CLOSED

Library Calendar and Hours 

*Milk & Cookies night – 7 pm